UGA’s SREL announces its 2017 undergraduate cohort

Writer: Vicky Sutton-Jackson

In front of Odum Oak, left to right, front row, Jessica Gray, Elizabeth DiBona, Demetrius Calloway, Caleigh Quick, Manette Tanelus, Mariela Muniz-Gonzalez; (left to right, back row), Collin Topolski, Kaitlin Wilms, Jacob Jakielaszek, Kip Callahan, Eric Tokuyama, Robert Lewis, Michael Christianson, and Melissa Lech.

Aiken, S.C. – The University of Georgia’s Savannah River Ecology Laboratory welcomes 14 students to its summer undergraduate program. Representing colleges and universities from around the U.S., the 2017 cohort will embark on a 10-week Research Experience for Undergraduates focused on radioecology. Funded by the National Science Foundation, this is the only REU program allowing students to study the fate, transport and effects of radioactive elements in the environment.

The program begins with intense training in protocols and handling of radioactive elements. The students will develop and complete a research project with guidance from a faculty mentor and gain field and lab experience on the U.S. Department of Energy’s Savannah River Site. The students will also present their findings at a research symposium in Columbia, South Carolina at the end of the program.

SREL’s 2017 undergraduate students are:

Kip Callahan, University of South Carolina Upstate; Demetrius Calloway, Fort Valley State University; Michael Christianson, University of South Carolina Aiken; Elizabeth DiBona, Presbyterian College; Jessica Gray, University of Georgia; Jacob Jakielaszek, Temple University; Melissa Lech, University of South Carolina Upstate; Robert Thomas Lewis, Florida A&M University; Mariela Muniz-Gonzales, University of South Carolina  Aiken; Caleigh Quick, State University of New York; Manette Tanelus, University of South Carolina Upstate; Erik Tokuyama; Colorado State University; Collin Topolski, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University; and Kaitlin Wilms, Texas Tech University.


To find out more about SREL’s education programs, please visit