Research Staff

Research Professionals

Andrews

Andrews, Kimberly

andrews@srel.uga.edu

Reptile and amphibian conservation, spatial ecology, developing approaches for retaining ecological viability and permeability in urbanizing landscapes

R Beaseley

Beasley, Rochelle

 Research Professional II
 rbeasley@srel.uga.edu

Interested in all aspects of science; research endeavors include plant pathology, invasive species, field biology, wildlife genetics, virology and plant and animal tissue culture; responsibilities include lab manager for Lance Lab and oversight of the genetic marker development program

Larry Bryan

Bryan, Larry 

Research Professional III
lbryan@srel.uga.edu

Vertebrate ecology, avian habitat use and contaminant uptake, threatened and endangered species conservation, contaminant uptake in aquatic species

Buhlman

Buhlmann, Kurt

Senior Research Associate
kurt@srel.uga.edu

Life history and evolutionary ecology of herpetofauna, and application to conservation and habitat management; upland habitat needs of seasonal wetlands herpetofauna; effects of land management; reintroduction methods; global turtle conservation

Jared

Cochran, Jarad

Research Professional I
cochraj@uga.edu

Dean Fletcher

Fletcher, Dean

Research Professional III
fletcher@srel.uga.edu

Ecology and reproductive biology of stream fishes, stream disturbance assessment and restoration, disturbance histories of upper coastal plain streams, and GIS applications in stream assessments

Judy Greene

Greene, Judith

Research Professional I
jgreene@srel.uga.edu

Population dynamics and ecology of freshwater turtles; natural history and conservation of reptiles and amphibians; biodiversity of isolated wetlands; maintenance of historical and long term data sets

R Kennamer

Kennamer, Robert

Research Professional I
 rkennamer@srel.uga.edu

Avian ecology, avian population ecology, and environmental contaminants

L Lee

Lee, Linda 

Research Professional III
lee@srel.uga.edu

Botany, plant ecology, wetlands, habitat management and restoration, rare plant conservation

 

A Lindell

Lindell, Angela 

Research Professional III, serves as Analytical Services Manager
lindell@srel.uga.edu

Recent research projects focused on contaminant bioaccumulation in aquatic macroinvertebrates and biogeochemistry of constructed wetlands

 

David Scott

Scott, David

Research Professional III
scott@srel.uga.edu

Amphibian ecology, amphibian use of isolated wetlands, ecological risk analysis, K-12 science outreach

Paul Stankus

Stankus, Paul 

Research Professional I
Stankus@srel.uga.edu

Provide field and lab support to a number of researchers studying effects of heavy metals on biota in disturbed streams and retention ponds. The various research projects target effects on organisms ranging from microbes to macroinvertebrates

 

Research Assistants

011JessicaBur

Buskirk, Jessica

jessica.buskirk@uga.edu

Ashley LaVere

LaVere, Ashley

aalavere@uga.edu

Research Technicians

R Juarez

Juarez, Rebecca

rjuarez@uga.edu

Interests include conservation genetics, wildlife ecology and management, population dynamics, and carnivore ecology

Marilyn-Mason

Mason, Marilyn

mwmason@uga.edu

Maintaining and propagating the medaka culture, operating the Low Dose Irradiation Facility, and assisting with contaminant studies that use medaka as a model organism; research interest include ecology and environmental toxicology

D Pitt

Pitt, Danielle B.

dboitt@uga.edu

Broad interest in insect aquatic ecology, especially that of lotic systems and concerning conservation; specific interests in the dynamics of trophic interactions and modeling ecological systems, particularly at landscape scales, as well as science outreach and education

Oberkircher, Megan

Research focuses on avian ecology, avian habitat use, contaminant uptake, and chronic stress